Email/U-System Account Deletion Policy
UITS periodically deletes email/U-System computer accounts belonging to individuals no longer affiliated with the University of Arizona.
"No longer affiliated" is defined as:
- Students who have graduated or are no longer enrolled
- Faculty or staff who have voluntarily left or have been terminated
Student CatMail accounts are not deleted, although Google reserves the right to convert the accounts of non-affiliated students from the Google Apps for Education contract to a standard Google account.
Retirees have the option to opt in to a CatMail account, which will not be deleted.
Approximate Account Deletion Dates
Accounts for non-affiliated University of Arizona students, faculty, and staff are normally deleted 14 days after the last day to drop a class with a grade of "W" or to change to or from audit grading (during the Fall and Spring semesters only).
14 days before accounts are scheduled for deletion, each affected account owner will receive email notification from UITS that their account is scheduled for deletion. Account owners are responsible for backing up any files they wish to keep.
Requests for Extension
In some cases, account owners may have valid reasons for retaining their accounts. Some of these reasons include, but are not limited to:
- Making up an incomplete. The 24/7 IT Support Center requires a letter from the professor stating the student needs the account to make up an incomplete. The expiration date will be the last day of the semester.
- Enrolled in the University of Arizona Study Abroad program
- Data errors in various systems
If the account owner suspects that he or she received the account deletion email notification in error, he or she should contact the party listed in the email message immediately.
Occasionally, a student or employee may have had his or her account deleted but is in fact still eligible to retain the account. This sometimes occurs if the account owner has not read email messages for some time. Should this occur, contact the 24/7 IT Support Center. The account owner will be asked to provide sufficient documentation stating why he or she is still eligible for the account. Upon approval, the account will need to then be re-created and a file restore performed (if the account owner needs the old data files and email messages). Please note, however, that UITS cannot guarantee that all files will be restored.
This policy is subject to change without notice.