Email lists can be closed at the request of the owner or due to inactivity. Either way, the name of a closed mailing list goes into a two-year quarantine, so no other list can use the same name as the deleted list. After two years, the name again becomes available for assignment to another list.
Closing a List at the Request of the List Owner
Email list owners may close their own lists and do not need to send a request to the Postmaster. A closed list no longer works, but the list name/alias will stay active for four months. List owners who want to keep their archives should download them for off-list storage before closing their lists.
After an email list has been closed:
- If someone sends a message to the list, he or she will get a reply from Sympa that the list is closed.
- The list can be restored up to four months after closure by emailing email@example.com.
- The list name will be put in cooldown mode in the UA Email Address Management System after four months, and is quarantined for two years.
- The list and archives will be kept on the system for 12 months, after which everything will be deleted. There is no way to recover the archives after this point.
Closing a List Due to Inactivity
If a list is inactive for 12 months, a message will be sent to the list owner warning him or her that the list will be closed the following month (after the thirteenth month of inactivity).
If the list does not become active during that month and it is closed, the list configuration and archives will be deleted, and the list name will be put into quarantine for two years, as described above.